Atlanta’s Tealights Release New EP

Atlanta band Tealights formed in September 2008 and have since developed a healthy following through national touring in support of such indie groups as Octopus Project, Asobi Seksu, Throw Me the Statue, Evangelicals, Starf*cker, and School of Seven Bells.

They were recently interviewed by Georgia Public Broadcasting for their NPR Morning Edition and released their first official EP in the fall of 2009. They followed up the release with a east coast tour in October, and a southwest tour in November.

Tealights has no lead singer – the vocals are handled by all three front members of the band – Nancy Shim, Mary Knight and Mikey Johnson.  Their songs are a unique pairing of soaring vocals set against an ethereal backdrop of instruments that include the electric mandolin, live drums, synths, cello, flute, melodica, and bells.

Check out the lead off singlePassport” at’s Free Streaming Indie Jukebox where we bring you the best stuff you haven’t heard yet.

If you enjoyed this post, make sure you subscribe to my RSS feed!

Leave a Reply